I just posted a new letter in the Fraser Correspondence, Charles’s reply to David’s letter of last week, which contains some brief gimpses into the early days of Charles and Mélanie’s marriage.

My friend Cathy recently commented that one thing she likes on author websites is when authors list books/movies they like/that have influenced them. This made me remember a talk I gave to a writers’ group, where in course of talking about the creation of a book, I listed books, movies, plays, and television shows that had all in some way influenced me in working on “Daughter of the Game”/”Secrets of a Lady.” Since I just posted a second video clip (below) in which I talk about how I got the idea for the book, this seems a good time to repeat the list:

“The X-Files”, Len Deighton’s Bernard Samson books, “The Scarlet Pimpernel”, “Troilus & Cressida”, “An Ideal Husband”, Tom Stoppard’s “The Real Thing”, “Measure for Measure”, Dorothy Dunnett’s “Lymond Chronicles”, “Murder One”, “Oliver Twist”, “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof”, “Scaramouche”, “Othello”, “Alias”, “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”.

To those who’ve read “Daughter/Secrets” any thoughts of what influenced which parts of the book and how?

Cheers,
Tracy