I have some exciting news. I’m going to join the History Hoydens, a fabulous group of writers who blog about historical novels and historical research. My first post is up on the site today. It’s about different genres of historical novels–historical novels and historical romances primarily–and the differences between the genres (something I’m often asked about and having difficulty defining). Do stop by and say hullo and post a comment!

In writing the blog post for History Hoydens, I realized I choose books less by genre than by historical era and also type of plot. As I mention in the blog, I love particular eras–the Wars of the Roses, the Regency–and I love books about married couples and spy stories (neither of which is a big surprise given what I write🙂. I also love stories about couples, particularly couples with ongoing relationships that intersect with mysteries, espionage, political intrigue, all types of adventures. I love the interaction between the development of the relationship and the development of whatever plot/s the couple are involved in. These couples and their relationships are often the most intriguing whey play out over multiple books or multiple episodes of a television series. I want to riff about this more in a future post, but for now, here’ s a list of ten couples from books (mostly series but there were a few couples from standalones I couldn’t bear to leave out) and television shows. Not necessarily a list of favorites–I never can narrow down favorties, and as soon as I do, I realize I’ve left out someone–but ten couples I find memorable for various reasons:

Harriet Vane and Peter Wimsey in Dorothy Sayers’s books

Mulder & Scully in “The X-Files”

Mary Russell & Sherlock Holmes in Laurie King’s Mary Russell series

Marguerite St. Just & Percy Blakeney in the Baroness Orczy’s Scarlt Pimpernel series

Gil & Ingold in Barbara Hambly’s Darwath Trilogy (a close tie with Antryg & Joanna in the Windrose trilogy, but I went with Gil and Ingold because I read these books first, as a teenager)

Joyce Davenport & Frank Furillo in “Hill Street Blues”

Alec & Richard in “Swordspoint” by Ellen Kushner

James & Susan in Steven Brust & Emma Bull’s “Freedom & Necessity”

Darcy & Elizabeth in Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice”

Bernard & Fiona Samson in Len Deighton’s books

Any thoughts on the couples above or on other memorable couples from books, television, movies, plays?

In additon to my blog on the History Hoydens, be sure to check out the Fraser Correspondence, where I’ve posted the first letter from Honoria Talbot, who plays a prominent role in “Beneath a Silent Moon” (though I fear Mélanie might not be best pleased that I’ve posted a letter from Honoria to Charles on a day when I’m talking about couples🙂.