Thanks for all the wonderful comments on casting Charles and Mélanie and Raoul and others last week. It’s so fun and interesting seeing different people’s interpretations of the characters. I’ve posted a new cast on StoryCasting for Beneath a Silent Moon, again using the actors I imagined when I wrote the book. Take a look here, come back to the blog to comment, and/or post your own casting suggestions on StoryCasting. It turns out there’s a fifteen character limit on StoryCasting and you can’t remove characters yourself, so I have to wait for them to take three of the characters off so I can add Kenneth Fraser, Lord Glenister, and Aspasia Newland. I’ll post an update when I do.

A look at the cast will probably give you a good sense of the movies and television shows I was watching when I wrote Beneath. Notably An Ideal Husband and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. As I mentioned in my blog last week, it took me a while to get Gisèle right. I started Beneath seeing Gisèle as Kate Winslet, but she just wasn’t quite coming to life as a character. Then, in the midst of watching BVTS, I started picturing her as Sarah Michelle Geller, and her character fell into place.

Talking of Beneath a Silent Moon, this week’s Fraser Correspondence addition is a letter from Quen to Aspasia not long after their marriage.