Hope everyone celebrating U.S. Thanksgiving had a wonderful holiday. We had a very fun family party at my cousin’s in Davis (home of one of the University of California campuses). It’s over an hour drive and nearly twice as long in holiday traffic. Fortunately, I do some of my best book plotting in the car, so I was able to put the time to good use. Which provides a nice segue into this week’s video clip about the plotting process. Plotting is one of my favorite parts of writing a book, though it can also be one of the most frustrating. Myriad possibilities stretch open before one–it’s so fun to play “what if” and at the same time terrifying, because I’m afraid of making the “wrong” decision. And then, especially as I begin hammering out details, there are those plot twists that just won’t twist the right way or don’t seem twisty enough, those bits and pieces I can’t figure out how to connect. Until (often with the aid of lots of talks with fellow writers over lattes or glasses of wine) the pieces fall into place, usually because I take a step back from the plotting chessboard and realize I can look at the pieces differently.

Writers, how do you go about plotting? Is it a part of the writing process you enjoy? Readers, any questions about the plotting process? About the thinking that went into particular plot twists in Secrets or Beneath or other books?

Be sure to check out this week’s addition to the Fraser Correspondence. It’s a letter from Charles to Andrew after Andrew has asked for Gisèle’s hand.

Update 3 December: I expanded on my “Happy Endings” post today on History Hoydens and incorporated several comments from the discussion on this site. Do stop by!