A late and quick update this week. Yesterday was the Merola Grand Finale, the concert that was the culmination of 2009 Merola Opera Program of summer opera training. Always a fun evening, though a bit bitter sweet, because it means the program is over for the summer. And today I had friends over ( I love to entertain, but I don’t think I quite do it with Mélanie’s sangfroid yet), so it was a busy if fun week.

In the midst of this busy week, I was following a fascinating blog by Rike on the All About Romance blog and the follow up discussion. The blog was on “Bad Girl” heroines (a follow up to an equally interesting blog by Sandy on “Bad Boy “Heroes). It intrigued me, because as I’ve blogged about in the past, I tend to like characters who break rules. Barbara Childe, one of the examples Rike uses, is one of my favorite Heyer heroines. It also made me wonder if Mélanie qualifies as a “Bad Girl” heroine. She definitely does things a number of the other characters (not to mention some readers) consider “bad”, and she’s certainly made morally ambiguous choices. But I don’t know that she fits Rike’s definition of “selfish, pleasure-seeking, careless of others, wasteful and possibly promiscuous.” Well, some of the items on the list perhaps, but not all, I think.

Susan DC pointed out that Mélanie “has strong principles, and sometimes she does things to achieve those principles that may be not be morally pure. However, to be bad (to me), she’d have to do bad things for selfish ends, and I think her ends are much higher minded.”

Which makes totally sense. On the other hand, some of the heroes discussed in the “Bad Boys” thread, notably Francis Crawford of Lymond, have a core of principles.

What do you think of “Bad Girl” heroines? Do you like reading about them? How do they compare to “Bad Boy” heroes? In both cases, as what defines the characters as “Bad Girls” or “Bad Boys” their actions or the reasons (or lack of them) behind those actions? Would you call Mélanie a “Bad Girl” heroine?

Be sure to check out the Fraser Correspondence. I’ve just posted a letter to Mélanie from her friend Isobel Lydgate (David’s sister).