Sorry for the late update this week. Saturday was my birthday and also the Merola Opera Program’s Spring Benefit, so it was a hectic but fun weekend. I spent Saturday at The Fairmont, setting up for the benefit. Setting up the event is always fun (like tech week for a play), and some fabulous friends surprised me with a scrumptious Black Forest birthday cake. Then with the silent auction set up and the placecards on the tables, we traded our work clothes for evening gowns and heels and enjoyed a fabulous dinner and a wonderful concert by Adler Fellows Ryan Belongie, Sara Gartland, David Lomelí, and Tamara Sanikidze and Merola alums Mark Delavan, Patricia Racette, and Mark Morash. A lovely evening, and a great way to celebrate my birthday with lots of wonderful friends.

Here I am with my good friends Michelle Andre, (who celebrated her birthday today), Miriam Rosenfeld, and Alexandra Elliott:

Michelle, Tracy, Miriam, & Alex at the Merola Spring Benefit
photo: Drew Altizer Photography, http://www.drewaltizer.com

Now, as I get back to Vienna Waltz revisions, the black tie gala and evening of music put in mind of the balls and musicales in the book. Here’s another video clip where I talk about the influence of opera on Vienna Waltz.

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DqUjuj17SGA]

Do references to music or plays or in novels or visual art make you interested in hearing or seeing the piece in question? Writers, what kind of art do you draw inspiration from?

I just posted a new letter from Mélanie to Raoul to the Fraser Correspondence.