The Vienna Waltz revisions are off to my editor and I’m back at work on my new book, provisionally titled Waterloo until I think of a title that works. One of the challenges I faced with Vienna Waltz and that I’m facing with the new book, is that in many scenes the characters aren’t speaking English. Which means what I’m writing is a translation of what they’d actually be saying, and that I have to find ways to indicate which language they’re speaking in a given scene, when to use foreign words, and a host of other decisions:

Here’s a video clip where I talk more about characters and languages:

What makes it believable for you when you’re reading a book in which characters are speaking a language other than the one the book is written in? Writers, how have you dealt with this challenge?

This week the Fraser Correspondence letter from Mélanie to Raoul jumps to 7 March 1815 when the news of Napoleon Bonaparte’s escape from Elba reaches Vienna. I’ll be following Charles and Mélanie to Brussels in the letters so I can do background work on Waterloo. Closer to the release date of Vienna Waltz, the Fraser Correspondence will return to November 1814.