I recently got my first look at the cover for Vienna Waltz. Seeing a book cover is both nerve-wracking and exciting. A cover needs to draw in reads and to convey in an image, what the book is about. For so long, the book has existed primarily in the author’s imagination, with input from editors and agents and perhaps critique partners. Then suddenly, you’re presented with an image that will represent your book. My editor had asked me for suggestions for the cover, and we’d discussed the general concept, but I still wasn’t quite sure what the final cover would look like.

When I received the Vienna Waltz cover I was thrilled. Not only is it beautiful (and the woman on the cover actually looks like Mélanie/Suzanne), it wonderfully evokes the over-the-top glamor, decadence, and old world magic that were so much a part of the Congress of Vienna, and that I strove to capture in the book. I’m profoundly grateful to Kristine Mills-Noble who designed the cover and Judy York who did the illustration.

Cover for Vienna Waltz, designed by Kristine Mills-Noble, illustration by Judy York

What does the cover suggest to you? And what kind of book covers draw you in?

Mélanie’s descriptions of Brussels before Waterloo continue in her letter to Raoul that I’ve justed posted to the Fraser Correspondence.