Veronica, Tracy, and Adam

Thanks to everyone who commented on last week’s post. I’m happy to report that the winner of the Vienna Waltz ARC giveaway is Christine. Christine, watch for an email from me so I can get your contact info and send the ARC on its way.

This week, I have a special guest giveaway from my friend, the wonderful writer Veronica Wolff. Veronica and I often share fun and productive brainstorming sessions and writing dates (a good portion of Vienna Waltz was written during those writing dates). Here’s a bit about the book. That’s Veronica and me and her wonderful husband Adam at my holiday party in the photo above.

Thanks for Veronica’s generosity, I’m giving away copy of her new Scottish historical romance Devil’s Own.

Fifteen years after he was kidnapped and sold into slavery, Aidan returns to Scotland to find the home he knew long gone. His mother, a proper education, a chance at love—gone. All he has now are dreams of vengeance…

Only one woman could restore his tormented heart.

Aidan MacAlpin appreciates the hospitality of his brothers and sisters, but after surviving hell on earth, they feel more like strangers than kin. They could never understand his one ambition: To exact bloody revenge on the bastard who enslaved him all those years ago…

Elspeth Farquharson had already resigned herself to the life of a spinster when she’s hired to tutor dark, brooding Aidan—a real-life hero more enticing than any from her adventure books. If only she could convince this tragic rogue that she’s not the nervous, stuttering bookworm she appears to be. But when Aidan shows her a clue to his tortured past, she’ll be thrust into a dangerous game of passion and deception that will awaken the sexy heroine within—if it doesn’t kill her first…

Thinking about how vividly Veronica brings the Highland Scotland to life prompted me to think about the allure of Scotland as a setting. I’ve always been fascinated by Scotland. Though I have a very polyglot ancestry, my name is Grant, and I do have Scottish ancestors. I fell in love with Scotland when I first visited with my parents at not-quite seven. Later I had the fun of spending two weeks there researching Beneath a Silent Moon. Even in my books that aren’t actually set in Scotland, Charles’s love of Scotland his home Dunmykel is a recurring thread. I love Scottish-set books, from Dorothy Dunnett to Veronica’s and my friend Monica McCarty.

So for this week’s contest, what are your favorite books set in Scotland and why? One commenter will receive a copy of Devil’s Own, another will receive a Vienna Waltz ARC.

This week’s Fraser Correspondence addition is a letter from Raoul (exiled from Scotland as well as England and Ireland) to a young Charles at Harrow. I got a surprising lump in m throat writing it. It brought home what it would be like to have a child one couldn’t claim as one’s own and then to be separated from that child.

Which brings me to my last bit of news. Charles and Raoul’s relationship is an important thread in The Mask of Night. I’m happy to announce that my agent and I are going to release The Mask of Night as a Kindle e-book in late March (hopefully eventually we’ll have it available on other e-book platforms as well). Watch my site for more details, including the cover, which is currently in process. I’m excited reader will finally be able to read Mask, at the same time as Vienna Waltz.