The air’s turned cooler, even in the San Francisco Bay Area where some of our warmest weather is in the early autumn. The days are shorter, and though I live in a sea of evergreen redwoods, some trees are turning color. It’s autumn, a favorite season of mine. Lauren Willig had a great blog recently about the joy of small things, a lot of which were autumnal. Imitation being the sincerest form of flattery, I thought I’d do something similar, with a specific autumn theme.

Here are some of my favorite every day autumn delights:

Pumpkin spice lattes

The rose gold quality of the light

The fall opera/theatre/symphony seasons starting

The way my cats like to snuggle in the colder weather

Cashmere sweaters and cuddly knit dresses

Crisp days that are perfect for reading or writing with a cup of tea

The start of the tv season

Sitting by the window with my laptop and looking up from writing to watch leaves drift into the stream

What are your favorite autumn delights?

Be sure to stop by the Fraser Correspondence where I’ve just posted a new letter from Gisèle to Aline.