Dinner at Chateaulin in Ashland

Just got back from a fabulous few days at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. As always, the plays provided lots of fodder for future books and the drive to and from Ashland gave me lots of time for plot mulling. So I thought for this week’s post I’d pose another of the Imperial Scandal discussion questions, which goes to issues that will arise in subsequent books:

Which couple do you think has the most difficult path ahead–Suzanne and Malcolm, Harry and Cordelia, Rachel and Henri, Violet and Johnny? Why?

I’d love to hear everyone’s thoughts. I confess I’m not sure what I think myself on the subject, though the book I just finished, set in Paris two months after Imperial Scandal, deals quite a bit with Suzanne & Malcolm and Harry & Cordelia confronting the past and trying to forge a future. And those issues will continue to reverberate (and perhaps come to a head) in the book I’m beginning to plot.

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all moms and honorary moms. In honor of Mother’s Day, this week’s Fraser Correspondence addition is a letter from Lady Frances to Mélanie/Suzanne about Aline’s pregnancy and the challenges of motherhood.