watching "Fancy Nancy", Mel's first play

watching “Fancy Nancy”, Mel’s first play

Happy Sunday! After a busy day yesterday taking Mélanie to a children’s theater production of Fancy Nancy (her first play, which I described as “like an opera with talking” because she’s been to an opera), I’ve been spending today catching up on things around the house and thinking about the next Malcolm & Suzanne book. This morning, while cleaning, I was listening to the album of The Scarlet Pimpernel Broadway musical. The Scarlet Pimpernel is a big influence on the Rannoch/Fraser series, and listening to the score of the musical often makes me think of Suzanne and Malcolm their relationship and deceptions or sometimes of Raoul and how he relates to the two of them. But today I found myself thinking of Bertrand de Laclos, a character directly inspired by the Scarlet Pimpernel. Bertrand has a cameo in The Mayfair Affair. He and Rupert are living happily, if in the shadow of secrets and with the delicate tension of Rupert’s marriage to Gabrielle and now her affair with Nick Gordon. But today, listening to “Into the Fire” it occurred to me that after living a life of danger and adventure and devoting his life to helping people at great risk to himself, Bertrand is not a man to live quietly in retirement, even with the love of his life.

I have no idea yet what influence this revelation will have on the next book in the series or on books in the future, but it’s going into my file of notes. I think it’s fascinating how what writers listen to, watch, read about, discuss, and otherwise experience goes to inform their books. I can’t always pinpoint where I got the idea for a book because usually so many different thoughts and experiences come together to inform each story. But if Bertrand plays a major role in the next book, I’ll be able to think back to today as the inspiration for the story.

Have a great evening!

Tracy