TracyMelbook

I had a wonderful time last  weekend celebrating London Gambit with a launch party, talk, and signing at the wonderful Book Passage. Book Passage is such a fabulous store for readers and writers. As always, their welcome was warm and wonderful to me and to Mélanie.

First Mélanie and I both got our hair done at Benvenuto Salon, where I’ve been going since my 8th grade graduation, though Mélanie slept through having her hair styled.

 

Benvenuto

Mélanie was wonderful help setting up books when we got to Book Passage.

 

Setup

Our Book Passage host Johanna was fabulous and super organized, as she has been in the past.

Johanna

Mélanie was fascinated by the stage and wanted to talk into the microphone.

 

Meltable

 

Microphone

I talked a bit about how current events can resonate even with historical fiction and about how I was writing the early scene between Malcolm and David about David and Simon’s  relationship when  the marriage equality decision came down. Then I read from where Malcolm brings Teddy home through that scene. Mélanie (and her new Ariel doll) sat through the whole thing!

talking

Ariel

MelAriel

Afterwards we sipped wine, nibbled on cheese and crackers and strawberries, and I signed books (including some readers had ordered from across the country, very cool!) and got to chat with old and new friends.

With the wonderful Eve Lynch, who copy-edited London Gambit (and The Mayfair Affair and the two recent novellas) and her husband Niall.

EveNiall

With my friend Marlene, a fellow Dorothy Dunnett reader.

Marlene

With new friend Cathy who is a friend of a friend but had discovered my books on her own (always cool to hear!).

Cathy

With Mélanie’s Auntie Bonnie, my friend from high school.

Bonnie

 

Mélanie loved helping sign books.

Mel3

Mel

Afterwards we celebrated at a lovely dinner at Brick & Bottle, right next door to Book Passage and one of our favorites.

Bookdinner.